The judges for the 2022 Booker Prize were announced on 11 January 2022, as the prize opened for submissions.

Cultural historian, writer and broadcaster Neil MacGregor will chair the panel and will be joined by academic and broadcaster Shahidha Bari; historian Helen Castor; novelist and critic M John Harrison; and novelist, poet and professor Alain Mabanckou. 

Relive the 2021 Booker Prize - third time lucky for Damon Galgut as, after being shortlisted in 2003 and 2010, he finally wins the Booker Prize with The Promise. And drop by the Booker Library to discover books written by masterful storytellers, which will resonate with you for the rest of your life.





It's changed my life and please know that I am really, profoundly humbly grateful for this

— Damon Galgut, accepting the Booker Prize 2021, November 3 2021

Gaby Wood, director of the Booker Prize Foundation

‘This year, over the course of nine largely solitary months, five strangers of disparate backgrounds showed each other what they saw in stories—what dazzled them or challenged them, what touched them or left them unmoved. In the process they showed something of themselves, and came to trust each other as a result.

‘They also proved that the best literature is elastic: both because so many different things can be seen in it, and because—as one of the judges said—the best of fiction can make you feel as though your mind, or heart, are a little bit larger for having read it. 

‘In congratulating the shortlistees, it’s worth remembering how true this remains of the 2021 longlist, all of which will continue to be celebrated at, the new home of the prizes and the half-century-old Booker Library.’

Gaby Wood

Special Prizes

Why have just one Booker Prize when you can have several? Discover the unique stories behind the Booker one-off’s, from the Golden Booker to the Best of Beryl.

Browse all the special prizes.

The Best of the Booker trophy