The first book of William Golding’s Sea Trilogy is a haunting account of an epic sea journey, which profoundly affects all those who set sail on it.

In the early 1800s, Edmund Talbot, a young and rather priggish Englishman, takes passage on a boat heading for Australia where he is to be an official in the colonial government. In addition to Talbot, many of the eccentric passengers - a sexually predatory sailor, an aging coquette, the ship’s tyrannical captain - undergo profound changes in the course of the voyage, during which a naive clergyman is victimised and, finally, pushed to take drastic action.

The Booker Prize 1980
Published by
Faber & Faber
Publication date

Buy the book

We benefit financially from any purchases you make when using the ‘Buy the book’ links.

William Golding

William Golding

About the Author

William Golding was born Newquay, England. He is considered by many to be the greatest English novelist of the last 50 years.
More about William Golding