Sorrow and resentment mingle with passion and regret in Graham Swift’s Booker Prize-winning testament to a changing England and to enduring mortality.

Four men gather in a London pub. They have taken it upon themselves to carry out the last orders of Jack Dodds, master butcher, and deliver his ashes into the sea. For reasons she does not disclose, Jack’s widow, Amy, declines to join them. As the men drive towards the fulfilment of their mission, their errand becomes an extraordinary journey into their collective and individual pasts.

The Booker Prize 1996
Published by
Publication date
Graham Swift

Graham Swift

About the Author

Graham Swift is the author of eleven novels and two collections of short stories. His books have appeared in over 30 languages.
More about Graham Swift

Other nominated books by Graham Swift

The Light of Day