Graham Swift’s powerful and atmospheric tale of murder, redemption and of the discovery, for better or worse, of the hidden forces inside us.

On a cold but dazzling November morning, George Webb, a former policeman turned private detective, prepares to visit Sarah, a prisoner and the woman he loves. As he goes about the business of the day he relives the catastrophic events of two years ago that have both bound them together and kept them apart.

The Man Booker Prize 2003
Published by
Simon & Schuster
Publication date
Graham Swift

Graham Swift

About the Author

Graham Swift is the author of eleven novels and two collections of short stories. His books have appeared in over 30 languages.
More about Graham Swift

Other nominated books by Graham Swift

Last Orders
Prize winner