Two East Anglian families are linked by a deep secret in Graham Swift’s eloquent and poignant exploration of water, history, desire and tragedy.

Tom Crick is a history teacher, but the history that absorbs him is his own and his family’s. Driven by a marital crisis and the provocation of one of his pupils, he forsakes his teaching to relate the story of his family who have lived in the Fens since the 18th century. The past, with its secrets and oddities, hangs heavy on him, pushing him towards a heartbreaking new disaster in his life.

The Booker Prize 1983
Published by
William Heinemann
Publication date

Buy the book

We benefit financially from any purchases you make when using the ‘Buy the book’ links.

Graham Swift

Graham Swift

About the Author

Graham Swift is the author of eleven novels and two collections of short stories. His books have appeared in over 30 languages.
More about Graham Swift

Other nominated books by Graham Swift

The Light of Day
Last Orders
Prize winner