In Julian Barnes’ compelling novel, a middle-aged man is forced to reconsider his life when he is confronted with his imperfectly remembered past.

Tony and his clique first met Adrian at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they navigated the sixth form together, trading in-jokes, rumour and wit. Maybe Adrian was a little more serious than the others, certainly more intelligent, but they all swore to stay friends. Now Tony is retired. He’s had a career and a marriage, a calm divorce. He’s certainly never tried to hurt anybody. Memory, though, is imperfect. It can always throw up surprises, as a lawyer’s letter is about to prove.

The Man Booker Prize 2011
Published by
Jonathan Cape
Publication date

Buy the book

We benefit financially from any purchases you make when using the ‘Buy the book’ links.

Julian Barnes

Julian Barnes

About the Author

Julian Barnes is the author of 13 novels, including The Sense of an Ending, which won the 2011 Booker Prize.
More about Julian Barnes

Other nominated books by Julian Barnes

Arthur & George
England, England
Flaubert's Parrot