Julian Barnes is the author of 13 novels, including The Sense of an Ending, which won the 2011 Booker Prize.

He wrote two Sunday Times bestsellers - The Noise of Time and The Only Story. He has also written three books of short stories, four collections of essays and three books of non-fiction, including the Sunday Times number one bestseller Levels of Life and The Man in the Red Coat, which was shortlisted for the 2019 Duff Cooper Prize. In 2017 he was awarded the Légion d’honneur.

The Booker, after 19 years, is beginning to drive people mad. It drives publishers mad with hope, booksellers mad with greed, judges mad with power, winners mad with pride, and losers (the unsuccessful shortlistees plus every other novelist in the country) mad with envy and disappointment.

— Julian Barnes writing in 1987

Other nominated books

Flaubert's Parrot
England, England
Arthur & George