Margaret Atwood’s 2000 Booker winner is a multilayered drama that weaves its narrative threads across past and present, fiction and reality.

Iris Chase - married at 18 to a politically prominent industrialist, but now 82 and poor - is living in Port Ticonderoga, a town dominated by her once-prosperous family. While bewailing her unreliable body and deriding those who try to help her, Iris reflects on her far from exemplary life and perilous times, particularly on the events surrounding her sister Laura’s mysterious early death - a death which confirmed her iconic status as the author of a scandalous novel.

The Booker Prize 2000
Published by
Publication date

Buy the book

We benefit financially from any purchases you make when using the ‘Buy the book’ links.

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

About the Author

Margaret Atwood is the world-renowned author of more than 50 books of fiction, poetry and critical essays.
More about Margaret Atwood

Bookshop: The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

Other nominated books by Margaret Atwood

The Testaments
Prize winner
Oryx and Crake
Alias Grace
Cat's Eye
The Handmaid's Tale