J. M. Coetzee was born in Cape Town, South Africa. He is a multi-award-winning author, and was awarded the 2003 Nobel Prize in Literature.

His works of fiction include Dusklands; Waiting for the Barbarians, which won South Africa’s highest literary honour, the Central News Agency Literary Award; and Life & Times of Michael K., for which Coetzee was awarded his first Booker Prize in 1983. He has also published a memoir, Boyhood: Scenes from a Provincial Life, and several essay collections. In 1999, he again won the Booker Prize for Disgrace.

J.M. Coetzee

Other nominated books

Elizabeth Costello
Slow Man
The Schooldays of Jesus
Life & Times of Michael K
Prize winner