Booker Prize awards 2019

The 2019 Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood and Bernadine Evaristo congratulate one another as joint winners

Like a corpse in a zombie-flick, the old problem of split winners came back to life and an almighty ruckus ensued when Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo shared the prize.

The one thing the judges could decide on is that they couldn’t decide on a single winner. So, ignoring the prize stricture that only a single book could win, and ignoring too the reasons for the rule, they refused to budge and announced two winners.

Margaret Atwood with The Testaments, becoming only the fourth novelist to win the prize twice, and Bernardine Evaristo with Girl, Woman, Other, becoming the first black female novelist to win, were all graciousness and rose above the fuss. 

Margaret Atwood
Published by
Chatto & Windus
Margaret Atwood’s spellbinding sequel to The Handmaid's Tale was inspired by readers’ responses to the first book and ‘the world we’ve been living in’.
Bernardine Evaristo
Published by
Hamish Hamilton
With vivid originality, irrepressible wit and sly wisdom, Bernardine Evaristo presents a gloriously new kind of history for this old country.

The Shortlist

The Testaments
Prize winner
Girl, Woman, Other
Prize winner
Ducks, Newburyport

The Longlist

The 2019 judges

Announcing the 2019 Booker Prize longlist

Announcing the 2019 Booker Prize shortlist

Announcing the 2019 Booker Prize winners

2019 Booker Prize ceremony