Kazuo Ishiguro’s works of fiction have earned him many honours around the world, including the Nobel Prize in Literature.

He was born in Nagasaki, Japan and moved to Britain at the age of five. His work has been translated into over 50 languages. The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go were both made into acclaimed films, and have each sold more than 2 million copies. Ishiguro was awarded a knighthood in 2018 for Services to Literature. He also holds the decorations of Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres from France and the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star from Japan.

Other nominated books

An Artist of the Floating World
When We Were Orphans
Never Let Me Go
Klara and the Sun