A.S. Byatt is a novelist, short-story writer and critic of international renown. She was appointed CBE in 1990 and DBE in 1999.

Her novels include Possession, the Frederica Quartet and The Children’s Book. She was awarded the Erasmus Prize 2016 for her ‘inspiring contribution to life writing’ and the 2017 Pak Kyongni Prize. In 2018, she received the Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award.

A.S. Byatt

Other nominated books

The Children's Book