You are here

The Booker Prizes Backlist

The Man Booker Prize 2006

The Winner

The Inheritance of Loss

By Kiran Desai 

Published by Penguin 

In the north-eastern Himalayas, at the foot of Mount Kanchenjunga, in an isolated and crumbling house, there lives an embittered old judge, who wants nothing more than to retire in peace.

But with the arrival of his orphaned granddaughter, Sai, and the son of his chatty cook trying to stay a step ahead of US immigration services, this is far from easy.

The List of Finalists

The Shortlist

The Longlist

The 2006 Judges

Hermione Lee (Chair)

Simon Armitage

Candia McWilliam

Anthony Quinn

Fiona Shaw