M.J Hyland is an ex-lawyer and the author of three multi-award-winning novels: How the Light Gets In (2004), Carry Me Down (2006) and This Is How (2009).

Carry Me Down (2006) was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won both the Hawthornden Prize and the Encore Prize. M.J Hyland has twice been longlisted for the Orange Prize (2004 and 2009), the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize (2004 and 2007) and This Is How (2009) was also longlisted for the Dublin International IMPAC prize. M.J Hyland is a lecturer in Creative Writing in the Centre for New Writing at the University of Manchester and co-founder of the Hyland & Byrne Editing Firm.

M.J. Hyland

All nominated books

Carry Me Down