Mary Lawson’s quietly powerful family drama is a heart-breaking story about tempting fate and living with the consequences.

Arthur and Jake are brothers yet worlds apart. Arthur is older, shy, dutiful and set to inherit his father’s farm. Jake is younger, handsome and reckless, a dangerous man to know. When Laura arrives in their rural community, the fragile balance of the brothers’ rivalry is pushed to the edge of catastrophe…

The Man Booker Prize 2006
Published by
Chatto & Windus
Publication date

Buy the book

We benefit financially from any purchases you make when using the ‘Buy the book’ links.

Mary Lawson

Mary Lawson

About the Author

Mary Lawson has been longlisted for the Booker Prize twice, first in 2006 and again in 2021. She is a Canadian author. Her first novel, Crow Lake (2002), a tense family drama, won the 2003 McKitterick Prize.
More about Mary Lawson

Other nominated books by Mary Lawson

A Town Called Solace