In 2009, the Booker Prize Foundation and the University of East Anglia came together to create the UEA Booker Prize Foundation Scholarship. It has been awarded ever since.

The Creative Writing course at UEA is a close historical relative of the Booker Prize, boasting as it does a number of alumni who have gone on to win the prize – including Anne Enright, Kazuo Ishiguro and Ian McEwan.

Past scholars have spanned the UK and Commonwealth, and have gone on to develop stellar literary careers.



About the scholarship

Scholars are applicants who have already been offered a place to study for an MA in Prose Fiction, but who in many cases would not be able to afford to accept were it not for the support of the Booker Prize Foundation.

The scholar is chosen each year by members of the Creative Writing department in collaboration with the Director of the Booker Prize Foundation.

Past scholars

  • 2009 -10   D.W. Wilson (Canada)
  • 2010 -11   Anthony Good (UK)
  • 2011 - 12   Eliza Robertson (Canada)
  • 2012 - 13   Sharlene Teo (Singapore)
  • 2013 -14   Sarah Young (New Zealand)
  • 2014 - 15   Anna Pook (UK)
  • 2015 -16   Kristien Potgieter (South Africa)
  • 2016 - 17   Alake Pilgrim (Trinidad)
  • 2017 - 18   Francis Gosper (Australia)
  • 2018 - 19   Stephen Buoro (Nigeria)
  • 2019 - 20   Daniel Wiles (UK)
  • 2020 - 21   Esther Opeoluwa (Ope) Adedeji (Nigeria)
  • 2021 - 22   Michael Egan (UK)
Booker Prize UEA scholars