This special prize was created in 1994 to mark the 25th anniversary of the prize.

Three former chairs of the judges: Malcolm Bradbury, David Holloway and W.L. Webb, were asked to choose their ‘Booker of Bookers’. The winner was Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children which originally won the prize in 1981. Rushdie described it as ‘the greatest compliment I have ever been paid as a writer.’

Salman Rushdie