The second novel from David Mitchell, critically-acclaimed author of Ghostwritten and Cloud Atlas, is a mysterious coming-of-age story, set in Japan.

As Eiji Miyake’s twentieth birthday nears, he arrives in Tokyo with a mission - to locate the father he has never met. So begins a search that takes him into the seething city’s underworld, its lost property offices and video arcades, and on a journey that zigzags from reality to the realm of dreams. But until Eiji has fallen in love and exorcised his childhood demons, the belonging he craves will remain, tantalizingly, just beyond his grasp.

The Booker Prize 2001
Published by
Publication date
David Mitchell

David Mitchell

About the Author

David Mitchell has written nine novels and adapted his work for screen and stage. He was born in 1969 on the Lancashire coast, but was raised in Malvern, Worcestershire
More about David Mitchell

Other nominated books by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks
Black Swan Green
Cloud Atlas