Brian Moore’s tense drama focuses on the personal effects of The Troubles, the period of conflict in Northern Ireland from the late 1960s to 1998.

For Michael Dillon the moment comes just as he is making a decision that he expects to bring him the greatest happiness he’s ever known. An ordinary man trying to get on with his life, he now finds himself suddenly on the edge, faced with a moral choice which leaves him absolutely nowhere to turn. The expectation of happiness is replaced by a nightmare maze of dead ends.

The Booker Prize 1990
Published by
Publication date

Buy the book

We benefit financially from any purchases you make when using the ‘Buy the book’ links.

Brian Moore

Brian Moore

About the Author

Brian Moore was born in Belfast. His novels The Doctor's Wife, The Colour of Blood and Lies of Silence were all shortlisted for the Booker Prize.
More about Brian Moore

Other nominated books by Brian Moore

The Colour of Blood
The Doctor's Wife