Brian Moore was born in Belfast. His novels The Doctor's Wife, The Colour of Blood and Lies of Silence were all shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

He emigrated to Canada in 1948 and then moved to California. He twice won the Canadian Governor General’s Award for Fiction and has honoured by the United States Institute of Arts and Letters. He won the Author’s Club First Novel Award for The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for The Great Victorian Collection. Five of his novels have been made into films - The Luck of Ginger Coffey, Catholics, The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne, Cold Heaven and Black Robe.

Brian Moore

All nominated books

The Doctor's Wife
The Colour of Blood
Lies of Silence