Damon Galgut’s haunting evocation of one man’s search for love and a place to call home - a novel of longing and thwarted desire, rage and compassion.

There is a moment when any real journey begins. A young man makes three journeys that take him through Greece, India and Africa. He travels lightly, simply. To those who travel with him and who he meets on the way - including a handsome, enigmatic stranger, a group of careless backpackers and a woman on the edge - he is the Follower, the Lover and the Guardian. Yet, despite the man’s best intentions, each journey ends in disaster. Together, these journeys will change his life.

The Man Booker Prize 2010
Published by
Atlantic Books
Publication date
Damon Galgut

Damon Galgut

About the Author

Damon Galgut is a South African playwright and novelist, who wrote his first novel aged 17 and has now been shortlisted three times for the Booker Prize.
More about Damon Galgut

Other nominated books by Damon Galgut