You are here

The Booker Prize 1990

The Booker Prize 1990

The Winner


By A.S. Byatt

Published by Chatto & Windus 

Maud Bailey is a scholar researching the life and work of her distant relative, a little known 19th-century poet named Christabel LaMotte. Roland Mitchell is looking into an obscure moment in the life of another Victorian poet, the celebrated Randolph Henry Ash. Together, the two uncover a dark secret in Ash’s life: though apparently happily married, he conducted a torrid affair with LaMotte that has never before come to light. As Maud and Roland dig into the facts, they also find themselves falling in love.


The Shortlist

The 1990 Judges

Sir Denis Forman (Chair) 

Susannah Clapp

A. Walton Litz

Hilary Mantel

Kate Saunders