William Wall’s tense and moving novel that sets power and corruption against the fragile defences of love, friendship and family.

In a gritty urban Ireland, a bright teenager is heading for trouble: rarely at school, taking drugs, and hovering on the fringes of the city’s criminal underworld. When he falls for a drug dealer’s sister his life changes irrevocably, not least because she gets pregnant. And even as he tries to make a new start and adjust to being a lover and father, he realises he cannot evade vengeance forever.

The Man Booker Prize 2005
Published by
Publication date
William Wall

William Wall

About the Author

William Wall’s novels, Alice Falling, Minding Children, The Map of Tenderness and This Is the Country have all been published to critical acclaim.
More about William Wall