In Andrew Miller’s third novel, four people reach a turning point - and each is forced to take part in an act of liberation.

In the summer of 1997, four people realise that the time has come to assess what matters in life. Each will be given a chance to break free from the past: Alice Valentine, who lies gravely ill in her West Country home; her two sons, one still searching for a sense of direction, the other fighting to keep his career and marriage afloat; and László Lázár, who leads a comfortable life in Paris yet is plagued by his memories of the 1956 Hungarian uprising.

The Booker Prize 2001
Published by
Publication date
Andrew Miller

Andrew Miller

About the Author

Andrew Miller’s first novel, Ingenious Pain, was published in 1997. Since then his novels have been published in translation in 20 countries
More about Andrew Miller