Fairness is the fifth novel in Ferdinand Mount’s six-book Chronicle of Modern Twilight, which makes up the autobiography of Aldous (Gus) Cotton.

Helen is a tiny, blonde, serious girl. Few of those who tangle with her are ever quite the same afterwards. The narrator meets Helen when they are both looking after children during a summer vacation in Normandy. Her adventures in search of a morally satisfying life lead her into situations that are neither satisfying nor moral, from the mining boom in Central Africa to the child abuse scandals of the late 1980s, in this erratic fictional history of the second half of the twentieth century.

The Booker Prize 2001
Published by
Chatto & Windus
Publication date
Ferdinand Mount

Ferdinand Mount

About the Author

Sir Ferdinand Mount - who prefers just Ferdinand - is better known as a political commentator than novelist. Fairness was the fifth volume of his six-novel Chronicle of Modern Twilight series.
More about Ferdinand Mount