Paul Auster was nominated for the Booker Prize in 2017 for his novel 4 3 2 1. In this brilliantly unique book, four parallel and entirely different lives, a young boy grows up - again and again and again.

On March 3, 1947 Archibald Isaac Ferguson is born. From that single beginning, his life takes on the simultaneous and independent fictional paths of four boys made of the same genetic material, four boys who are the same boy. The rotating narratives evolve into an elaborate dance of inner worlds enfolded within the outer forces of history as, one by one, the intimate plots of the four Fergusons’ stories rush on across the tumultuous and fractured terrain of mid-20th century America.

The Man Booker Prize 2017
Published by
Faber & Faber
Publication date

Buy the book

We benefit financially from any purchases you make when using the ‘Buy the book’ links.

Paul Auster

Paul Auster

About the Author

Paul Auster was nominated for the Booker Prize in 2017 for his novel 4 3 2 1. He was the bestselling author of Winter Journal, Sunset Park, Invisible, The Book of Illusions, and The New York Trilogy, among many other works.
More about Paul Auster

What our Facebook Book Club members are saying

‘It took me a very long time to recover from this book and I can hardly put into words how impactful it was to me. Please do not let the volume scare you away! This is a worthy Booker contestant, a book of rare value and narrative talent that will captivate you. 

If you love historical fiction, family drama and stories of ancestry, if you need strength navigating your youth or you need to remember it and contemplate, if you are dealing with death, love, heartbreak, this book will have something for you.’

(Extracted from a posted comment on the Booker Prizes Book Club by Emmanouela Roussaki)