William Trevor was born in Mitchelstown, Ireland. He wrote many novels, and was a renowned writer of short stories.

His novels won numerous awards, including the Hawthornden Prize and the Whitbread Book of the Year Award. Four of his novels have been shortlisted for the Booker Prize. His two-volume Collected Stories was published by Viking Penguin in 2009. In 1999 William Trevor received the prestigious David Cohen Literature Prize in recognition of a lifetime’s literary achievement, and in 2002 he was knighted for his services to literature.

William Trevor

All nominated books

Mrs Eckdorf in O'Neil's Hotel
The Children of Dynmouth
Reading Turgenev
The Story of Lucy Gault
Love and Summer