The 5th entry in crime writer Rendell's bestselling Inspector Wexford series of novels.

Elizabeth and Quentin Nightingale were a happy couple who lived quite graciously at Myfleet Manor in the gentle English countryside. Elizabeth Nightingale found peace and tranquility on her nightly walks through the rich, dense forests surrounding Myfleet Manor. But the peace she treasured was shattered one night when she found death waiting in the woods. Chief Inspector Wexford and his colleague Inspector Burden find a most unsavory case on their hands—and must use all their wit and wisdom to solve it …

Ruth Rendell’s 1970 novel was longlisted for the Lost Man Booker, in 2010.

Published by
Ruth Rendell

Ruth Rendell

About the Author

Ruth Rendell wrote both under her own name and as ‘Barbara Vine’. In both guises she was a prolific and hugely successful author of crime and mystery novels.
More about Ruth Rendell