You are here

The Booker Prizes Backlist

The Booker Prize 1999

The Winner


By J.M. Coetzee

Published by Secker & Warburg 

Refusing to apologise after an impulsive affair with a student, David Lurie, a 52 year old professor in Cape Town, seeks refuge on his daughter’s farm where a savage and disturbing attack brings into relief the faults in their relationship. Pitching the moral code of political correctness against the values of Romantic poetry, Disgrace examines dichotomies both in personal relationships and in the unaccountability of one culture towards another.


The Shortlist

The 1999 Judges

Gerald Kaufman (Chair)

Shena Mackay

Professor John Sutherland

Boyd Tonkin

Natasha Walter