Sir Andrew Motion is a poet, novelist, professor and biographer, who was Poet Laureate from 1999 to 2009.

Between 1976-80, Motion taught English at the University of Hull and while there, at age 24, he had his first volume of poetry published. At Hull he met university librarian and poet Philip Larkin. Motion was later appointed as one of Larkin’s literary executors and his 1993 biography of Larkin won the Whitbread Prize for Biography. Motion was Editorial Director and Poetry Editor at Chatto & Windus from 1983–89, he edited the Poetry Society’s Poetry Review from 1980-82 and succeeded Malcolm Bradbury as Professor of Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia. He is now on the faculty at the Johns Hopkins Writing Seminars. Motion was appointed Poet Laureate on 1 May 1999. As laureate, he founded the Poetry Archive, an on-line library of historic and contemporary recordings of poets reciting their own work. Motion is Chairman of the Arts Council of England’s Literature Panel (appointed 1996) and is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. In 2003, he became Professor of Creative Writing at Royal Holloway, University of London. Since July 2009, Motion has been Chairman of the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council (MLA) appointed by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport. He is also a Vice-President of the Friends of the British Library, a charity which provides funding support to the British Library. He was knighted in 2009 and has been a member of English Heritage’s Blue Plaques Panel since 2008. In June 2012, he became the President of the Campaign to Protect Rural England. In March 2014 he was elected an Honorary Fellow at Homerton College, Cambridge. Motion won the 2015 Ted Hughes Award for new work in poetry for the radio programme Coming Home. The production featured poetry by Motion based on recordings he made of British soldiers returning from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. In 2017 Motion moved to Baltimore, Maryland to take up a post at the Writing Seminars as a Homewood Professor of the Arts at Johns Hopkins University.