In the final book of the series that began with The Darling Buds of May, the fun-loving Pop Larkin finds himself confined to a bed following a mild heart attack - caused by a little too much of what he fancied.

Ma battles with the doctors as she attempts to find an adequate cure, but it turns out that a seductive nurse is all he needs. Pa’s spirits truly recover themselves when he is forced to defend his home from the ministry’s railway plans. This concludes the tales of H. E. Bates’ Larkin family - a winsome gallery of characters who live as many of us would like to live, ‘if only we had the guts and nerve to flout the conventions’.

H.E. Bates’ 1970 novel was longlisted for the Lost Man Booker, in 2010.

Published by
Michael Joseph
Publication date
H.E. Bates

H.E. Bates

About the Author

H. E. Bates was an English writer known for works including Love for Lydia, The Darling Buds of May, and My Uncle Silas.
More about H.E. Bates