You are here

University collaboration for Man Booker Prize

University collaboration for Man Booker Prize

Two exciting new partnerships announced

The Booker Prize Foundation is delighted to announce two exciting new partnerships, one with Georgetown University, USA and the other with the University of East Anglia in the UK. The two projects are a fitting culmination to the year in which the prize celebrates its 40th anniversary.


Georgetown University

The entire freshman class of around 1,600 students, whether they are studying International Politics, Accounting, Nursing, or English Literature, will be required to read a designated novel from the shortlist of the previous year's Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The author of the featured book will be invited to the University to speak to the students and, for this, he or she will receive a substantial honorarium, thanks to an endowment left to the University by the Marino family.

The 2008 winner of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, Aravind Adiga, will be the first author to visit Georgetown University as part of the collaboration in September 2009.

Professor Father Alvaro Ribeiro SJ, of the Georgetown Department of English Literature has taught a course on Man Booker Prize fiction at Georgetown University since 1995 and will be responsible for the project. He comments, "I am delighted at the prospect of the Man Booker Prize establishing an institutional connection with an American University.  From Georgetown University's perspective, the arrangement harmonizes perfectly with the University's global outreach and the Marino Family's international cultural interests"

University of East Anglia

In the UK, the University of East Anglia (UEA) will offer an annual UEA Booker scholarship to be awarded to a student on the prose fiction strand of the Creative Writing MA. The first award will be made in 2009.

This scholarship will be jointly funded by UEA and the Booker Prize Foundation and, in keeping with the parameters of the prize, will be open to graduates from all Commonwealth countries and Ireland.  The award will cover academic fees, travel and living costs and will be given to a student admitted to the Creative Writing MA programme. For further information about how to apply please contact the Postgraduate Admissions Office in the Faculty of Arts and Humanities at UEA. 

The UEA is no stranger to the prize, with a number of shortlisted or winning authors - including Ian McEwan, Kazuo Ishiguro, Anne Enright and Rose Tremain - having studied there. Other writers and critics associated with UEA - Malcolm Bradbury, Lorna Sage and Giles Foden amongst them - have acted as judges for the prize.  

Professor Jon Cook, Dean of Faculty Arts and Humanities at UEA, comments, "We are delighted at the news of this award. It will enable us to support talented writers from many different parts of the world and deepen our contribution to an international literary culture."

Jonathan Taylor CBE, Chair of the Booker Prize Foundation, comments, "It is good to see a literary prize not only rewarding outstanding writers of literary fiction but also seeking to help develop future writers. We are delighted to have these two partnerships on both sides of the Atlantic."

- ends -


For further information and press enquiries please contact

Lucy Chavasse or Jill Cotton at Colman Getty

Tel: 020 7631 2666

E-mail: [email protected] or

[email protected]


Notes to Editors:


The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga (Atlantic Books) won the Man Booker Prize 2008


The Booker Prize for Fiction was first awarded in 1969, and Man Group plc was announced as the sponsor of the prize in April 2002, with a five year extension agreed in 2006. For a full history of the prize including previous winners, shortlisted authors and judges visit the website: It is a major media and information tool which is accessed worldwide with up to the minute information about both the annual Man Booker Prize and the biennial man Booker International Prize. Featuring news, interviews and written pieces as well as a lively forum and full history archive of the prize, the site is used by journalists, bloggers and general members of the public on a daily basis.


2008 is the 40th anniversary of the Booker Prize (now the Man Booker Prize) for Fiction. To mark the occasion, a range of events and initiatives have been taking place throughout the year.

The V&A Museum is currently hosting an exhibition - The Booker 40 at the V&A - which tells the visual story of the prize over the years.  The display includes every book which has won since 1969 as well as a wide selection of shortlisted titles and one of the original Booker trophies. It examines what made ‘The Booker' one of the most talked about and influential literary prizes in the English speaking world. It opened on 6th September and will run until 17th May 2009. For further information please visit

The British Council is working towards the creation of an online collection of contemporary British literature and is in negotiation with publishers to include former winners of the Booker Prize and Man Booker Prize as e-books, which can be purchased. 

The Advisory Committee, which advises on any changes to the rules and on the selection of the judges, represents all sides of the book world. Its members are: Ion Trewin, Chair (Literary Director, Man Booker Prizes); Richard Cable, publisher; Mark Chilton, Company Secretary, Booker Ltd; Peter Clarke, Chief Executive, Man Group plc; Jonathan Douglas, Director of the National Literacy Trust; Victoria Glendinning, writer; Basil Comely, BBC TV; Derek Johns, literary agent; Gerry Johnson, Managing Director, Waterstone's; Nigel Newton, publisher; Fiammetta Rocco, literary editor, The Economist (Man Booker International Prize administrator); Eve Smith (Company Secretary, the Booker Prize Foundation); Robert Topping; Topping & Company Booksellers and Erica Wagner, literary editor, The Times.


The Booker Prize Foundation is a registered charity (no 1090049) which, since 2002, has been responsible for the award of the prize. The trustees of the Booker Prize Foundation are former Chairman of Booker plc, Jonathan Taylor CBE (Chair); Lord Baker of Dorking CH; playwright and President of the Royal Literary Fund, Ronald Harwood CBE; former Chair of the British Council, Baroness Kennedy QC; writer, Baroness Neuberger DBE; MEP Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne; and former Finance Director of Rentokil plc, Christopher Pearce. Martyn Goff CBE, former Man Booker Prize administrator, has recently been appointed President of the Foundation.


Man Group plc has sponsored the Man Booker Prize since 2002 and is this year celebrating its own notable anniversary - its 225th.


Man is a world-leading alternative investment management business. With a broad range of funds for institutional and private investors globally, it is known for its performance, innovative product design and investor service. Man manages around USD60 billion* and employs 1,800 people in 13 countries worldwide.


The original business was founded in 1783. Today, Man Group plc is listed on the London Stock Exchange and is ranked in the FTSE 100 index, with a market capitalisation of around USD5 billion*.