You are here

Irish publishers eligible to submit novels for the Man Booker Prize from 2018 onwards

Irish publishers eligible to submit novels for the Man Booker Prize from 2018 onwards

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction announces a change in its rules of entry as the 2018 submission forms are sent to publishers today.

As of 2018, a new rule has been added specifying that any novel written originally in English and published in Ireland by an imprint formally established in Ireland is now eligible for the prize.

In making the decision, the Booker Prize Foundation consulted with Publishing Ireland, the Irish Association of Book Publishers. It was agreed that given the special relationship between the UK and Irish publishing markets – whereby most Irish publishers release books simultaneously in Ireland and the UK – all Irish publishers should be eligible. The aim of the new rule is to ensure independent Irish publishers are given the same opportunity to be recognised by the prize as Irish publishers who have headquarters in the UK and are already eligible to submit titles.

Gaby Wood, Literary Director of the Booker Prize Foundation comments:

'We're delighted to support Irish publishers and the writers whose work they bring into the world. So much exciting new fiction is being written and published concurrently in Ireland and the UK that we felt it was only right to acknowledge and honour that.'

Ronan Colgan, President of Publishing Ireland, comments:

‘We are extremely grateful for the support shown by the Man Booker Prize and our friends and colleagues in the UK publishing industry. This announcement is wonderful news, not just for Irish publishers and Irish writers but for our intertwined literary heritage.’

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2018 is now open for submissions from publishers. The judging panel will be looking for the best novel of the year, selected from entries published in the UK and Ireland between 1 October 2017 and 30 September 2018. The deadline for completed entry forms is 9 March 2018, with finished novels to be received by 15 June 2018. For the full rules please visit:

This year’s judging panel is: philosopher Kwame Anthony Appiah (Chair); crime writer Val McDermid; cultural critic Leo Robson; feminist writer and critic Jacqueline Rose; and artist and graphic novelist Leanne Shapton.

The ‘Man Booker Dozen’ of 12 or 13 books will be announced in July 2018 and the shortlist of six books in September 2018. The winner of the £50,000 prize will be announced on 16 October 2018 at an awards ceremony at London’s Guildhall, broadcast live by the BBC.

In 2018, the Man Booker Prize will be celebrating 50 years of the finest fiction with year-long global anniversary celebrations. The flagship event, run in partnership with Southbank Centre, the UK’s largest arts centre, is the unmissable Man Booker 50 Festival from 6 to 8 July 2018.

The Man Booker Prize is sponsored by Man Group, an active investment management firm.